HKAPA Annual Report 2008-2009 - page 55

Strings Department
The first day of the new academic year started off with
a lecture recital by the Borodin Quartet, who performed
Shostakovich 8th quartet to the students in the Recital Hall.
The Smith Quartet gave two concerts of contemporary
string quartets in the Academy Concert Hall in October
as a co-presentation with the British Council. In the first
concert they performed Richard Tsang’s
Donghsiao and string quartet with Academy student Chan
King-tsun, and in the second concert they were joined
by two Academy string quartets for a performance of
Steve Reich’s
Triple Quartet
. Michael Ma taught at the
Beijing Central Conservatory and at the Young Artist
Summer Camp in Ri Zhao in Shandong province of
China, and he and Ray Wang taught at the Great Wall
Summer Institute near Beijing. Visiting artists during the
year have included the violinists George Maxman, Kurt
Sassmannshaus, Simon Fischer, Leo Phillips, Malcolm
Layfield, Hagai Shaham and Zhu Dan; violist Bruno
Pasquier; cellists Peter Stumpf and François Salque; bass
players Chris Hanulik and Niek de Groot.
Woodwind, Brass and Percussion Department
TheAcademyConcert Bandwent toDenverwith JoeKirtley
to take part in the International Horn Symposium. Ten
year-old Junior student Harry Chiu Kwok-pong performed
the 3rd movement of Mozart’s 4th horn concerto and
the Academy Concert Band performed Edward Gregson’s
horn concerto with Frank Lloyd, and the Introduction and
Main Event For Four Horns and Band by Kerry Turner
with the American Horn Quartet. Visiting artists have
included bassoonists Martin Gatt and Yoshiyuki Ishikawa,
oboists Ariana Ghez and Peter Cooper, clarinettist Michel
Lethiec, trumpeter James Thompson, and trombonist Steve
Witser. Levin Chan Ling-fai (flute) was awarded the Asian
Cultural Council Lady Fung Memorial Music Scholarship
to the Aspen Music Festival. Brian Chan Tsz-chun (flute),
Kwan Sheung-fung (oboe), Au Kai-see (bassoon), Chung
Cheuk-fai (saxophone), Vong Wai-man (percussion), Paw
Man-hing (horn) played in the Asian Youth Orchestra.
Lee Wai-ching (bassoon) played in the National Youth
Orchestra of the Netherlands and clarinettists Fung Chi-
hang and Young Sze-chun participated in the Pablo
Casals Festival in Prades in France. Junior clarinet student
Natalie Jen Hoe was awarded the title of Young Musician
of the Year 2008.
The Academy Concert Band rehearsing with American Horn Quartet at Denver
(photo by Heather Pettit-Johnson)
Heather Pettit-Johnson
1...,45,46,47,48,49,50,51,52,53,54 56,57,58,59,60,61,62,63,64,65,...154
Powered by FlippingBook