HKAPA Annual Report 2008-2009 - page 23

Po Yeung-lap (Contemporary Dance) was awarded the
JessieHo Scholarship inContemporaryDance; Ho Sheung-
kwan (Chinese Dance) a Hang Seng Bank Community
Service Scholarship; and Wong Sui-lun (Chinese Dance),
the Carl Wolz Scholarship.
Alumni Activities
School of Dance graduates continued tomake a significant
impact on dance both internationally and in Hong Kong,
most notably:
Anh Ngoc Nguyen, currently a dancer with Wayne
McGregor’s internationally renowned Random Dance,
received the prestigious Spotlight Award for the Best
Male Artist (Modern) at the UK 2008 National Dance
Awards, while Adilijiang Abudureheman was promoted
to soloist with the Royal Swedish Ballet, after joining the
company in August 2007.
Luo Fan was a recipient of a 2009 Hong Kong Dance
Award, as was Mui Cheuk-yin. The Hong Kong Dance
Alliance sponsored
Dance Platform 2008
saw a plethora
of graduates and current students from the School as
performers and choreographers. The latter included Fung
Lok-hang, Tam Mei-wah, Leung Tsz-yan, and Cai Ying.
The programme was produced by Anna Chan (Head
of the Performing Arts Education Centre), and directed
by graduate and former faculty member Pewan Chow.
Representing Hong Kong, Choi Ka-lok was selected to
participate in the 2008 Asian Young Choreographers’
Project in Taiwan in July. He was also commissioned to
create a work for Ballet stream students for the
Repertory Concert
in June, as was Chau Kam-yan. Jointly
with fellow Hong Kong Ballet Apprentice Choreographer
Carlo Pacis, Chau Kam-yan also choreographed for the
spectacular Opera Hong Kong production of
, which
was performed in Hong Kong and Seoul.
Visiting Artists and Scholars
The School of Dance had the privilege of benefiting from
the knowledge and expertise of some of the world’s most
notable dance artists/teachers during the course of the
year. The success of the two main performance seasons
was due in no small part to the guest choreographers
who created such exciting works for the students, among
them Leigh Warren (Australia), Professor Zhao Linping
(Inner Mongolia), Cheng Tsung-lung (Taiwan), and
Professor Zhang Jianmin (Beijing).
Special workshops to take advantage of the presence
of international artists were also arranged, including
celebrated dancer/choreographer Akram Khan, dancers
from the Paul Taylor Dance Company from the USA,
and French company Accrorap (courtesy of
Le French
). Other artists/scholars to spend time in the School
included Lee Yanor (Israeli Dance Film artist), Deon
Hastie (Australia), Liu Yi-chun (Taiwan), Paul de Masson
(Singapore), Georg Blaschke (Austria), Alexis Saramite
(Paris Opera Ballet), Lin Ko-pei (Taiwan), Daniel Yeung
(Hong Kong), Rashna Homji (Hong Kong), Victor Ma
(Artistic Director, Y-Space), and Dr Marita Cardinal (USA),
who presented a
Dance Science andWellness for Dancers
workshop for faculty and community professionals
during her stay.
Boundless Grasslands
(photo by Ringo Chan)
1...,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22 24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,...154
Powered by FlippingBook